Skip to content


The CSCS was established in 1995 and has been growing the number of CSCS Cards it issues year on year. It has issued almost 1.9 million cards. Its purpose is to provide the assurance that individuals working in the construction industry have the right training and qualifications to do their job.

Partner Organisations

In September 2016 CSCS handed over the responsibility of structured network engineer cards to ECS which is a partner organisation. Partner card schemes are based on the same standard as CSCS requiring the holder to gain an accredited qualification and pass the health & safety test. From January 2017 all-new CSCS card applications for data and fibre engineers are made to ECS.


If you work in any part of the construction industry then the answer is yes. More and more sites and businesses are now demanding that anyone working with or for them holds the appropriate CSCS Card.

There are a number of different CSCS Cards available but it is important that those working in the construction industry get the right level of card for the job they do. As well as getting a vocational qualification at the right level, you will also need to complete the CSCS Health and Safety test. Once you are in possession of both of these you will be eligible to apply for your card.



VQ Training has worked with nearly 500 structured network engineers across the UK supporting them in getting the necessary level 3 qualification to be eligible for the ECS Advanced Datacomms Specialist.

Gold cards are the most appropriate cards for structured network engineers as allows them to work on any site. It also allows them to be able to supervise more junior engineers that are developing in their careers.

VQ Training provides an online system that allows engineers to build a portfolio of evidence which demonstrates their skills and competence. It is completed by engineers in their own time, they have no need to attend a college course and it can be completed as quickly as an engineer can build their portfolio.


The ECS Advanced Datacomms Specialist card is for operatives that are qualified to Level 3 in a recognised datacomms qualification and are installing, commissioning and maintaining structured cabling systems for datacomms systems.

Eligibility and requirements
To be eligible for an ECS Advanced Datacomms Specialist card, applicants must meet the following criteria:

1. You must have achieved :

Have undertaken an approved Level 3 Datacomms Specialist apprenticeship

Or have passed one of the following:

Engineers must also hold a current ECS Health, Safety and Environmental Assessment.